Frozen River Flows (2005)

Oboe & Percussion
Arr. Violin, Accordion and Double Bass
Arr. 2 Flute, Clarinet, Violin and Cello
Percussion required: Crotales; Vibraphone (no motor)


First Performance: new noise, 17th February 2005, National Portrait Gallery, London

Inspired by the beautiful phenomenon of a flowing river with a frozen ‘crust’, this piece is a short delicate meditation. The sinuous lines of the oboe are blurred with hazy vibraphone drones and crystalline Morse code from the crotales. Commissioned by new noise and originally scored for oboe and percussion, there is an arrangement for violin, accordion and double bass, and also an arrangement for 2 Flutes, Clarinet, Violin and Cello


(Extract may take a few seconds to load)

Tabakova- Frozen River Flows (2005)

Preview Score
Buy D.Tabakova scores from


© Copyright 2003-2014 Dobrinka Tabakova
All Rights Reserved