Suite in Jazz Style (2009)

For Viola and piano
Duration c. 14 min
First Performance: 28th January 2009, Bridgewater Hall, Manchester
Maxim Rysanov-viola; Katya Apekisheva-piano
Commissioned by Radio 3 and Royal Philharmonic Society
Dedicated to Maxim Rysanov

This suite in three movements aims to portray three ‘flavours’ of the jazz repertoire, which I have admired for many years, refracted through my own compositional style. In the first movement, the left hand of the piano takes on the role of a pizz bass, while the viola and right hand piano dialogue in a series of inter-linking melodies. The rich and grainy quality of a jazz singer’s voice inspired the lullaby, which is the second movement. The consecutive irregular time signatures of the last movement allude to the fusion of jazz and folk. The suite was commissioned jointly by BBC Radio 3 and Royal Philharmonic Society for Maxim Rysanov as part of the BBC New Generation Artist Scheme.

(Extract may take a few seconds to load)

Tabakova- Suite in Jazz Style (2009)
Playing: Part I
Preview Score
Buy D.Tabakova scores from 


© Copyright 2003-2014 Dobrinka Tabakova
All Rights Reserved