Urban Folk (1999)

For two percussionists 

Cow bells (Chromatic from G below middle C to F# on top treble stave); Crotales (chromatic octave starting from G# above middle C); 5 different pitches of woodblocks

This piece explores the blend of idiophone and indefinite pitch instruments. There are three main sections: 1.pentatonic 2. mode based 3. mixture of the first two. Throughout the piece the two performers work together, rather than in dialogue. Dedicated to Anna & Aaron Chetwynd.

First Performance: THWACK (Joby Burgess & Paul Westwood), 21st January 1999, GSMD Music Hall

Duration: 5'


(Extract may take a few seconds to load)

Tabakova- Urban Folk (1999)
Playing: section of the beginning
Preview Score
Buy D.Tabakova scores from


Copyright 2003-2014 Dobrinka Tabakova
All Rights Reserved